Bring Out the Gimp

Musings on pop culture by freelance journalist Shawn Conner

List – 20 best movies adapted from comic books

Danger Diabolik movie image

John Phillip Law and Marisa Mell in Danger Diabolik (1968), one of Robin Bougie’s picks as one of the best movie adaptations of a comic book.

Comic strips, manga, graphic novels and comic books turned into movies

- by Robin Bougie

I haven’t seen Watchmen yet, and frankly I don’t exactly know when I’ll get around to it. I have, however, watched a great many movies based upon the art form of sequential art, and have been reading comics fervently since I was in grade school.

What with Hollywood’s apparent lack of ideas and recent history of recycling and adapting anything and everything that ever sold more than a dozen copies off the “Hey Kids, Comics!”-stand, you’re probably hungry for alternatives to all of those shitty comic book movies. Yes, for every worthwhile effort, there are a dozen Ghost RidersCatwomansHoward the Ducks, and Superman IVs: The Quest for Peace. It’s enough to make one wonder if it’s even possible to use comics as a decent springboard for quality cinema.

Well, I’m here to tell you that it is, my friends. It is…

(What made Robin Bougie’s list? Find out on the full post “Twenty best movies adapted from comic books”)

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “List – 20 best movies adapted from comic books

  1. A nice list, though I’m vaguely disappointed to not see Road To Perdition on here. Much like History, it’s a movie which almost no one realizes is based on a comic, and it’s a beauty.

  2. Great list, Robin. I watched Barbarella again recently; still brilliant.

    I like Road to Perdition too, Frankie23, and 20th Century Boys.

  3. I always thought The Rocketeer was a pretty good comic book movie, but I’ll be damned if I know what I’d replace with it on this list…

  4. Ah, this always leaves open plenty for debate, don’t it? I found A History of Violence to be Cronenberg’s weakest film due to its broad brush-strokes but I never read the comic!(thank you for saying comic books and not ‘graphic novels’: the only thing that pithy phrase has done is made them be in libraries, win Pulitzers, make hot girls enjoy them, etc…etc….). It also had the bad Hurt, William (not to be confused with the good Hurt, John). He beats deaf women. And he’s awful.

    What I would have added to the list is BABA YAGA for some ultra stylish Italo 60s mystical drivel.

    And POPEYE: What an underrated movie! And I am normally a Segar/Fleischer purist! But Feiffer, Altman, Parks, Nilsson, and Duvall did great! I am fans of all those guys! They covered the rough and tumble barnacle crusted seaside quality.

  5. The Fantastic four movie sucked. I faithfully read the comic book for two decades. The movie was deviated from the comic book plot. The Thing costume wasn’t true to the comic book caracture. Maybe they will have him evolve, like in the comic books…I noticed the movie wasn’t mentioned in the article, I understand why.

  6. Pingback: An Ironic Moment from the Michigan GOP Debate

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,304 other followers

